Share

The Tokyo Olympics Opening Ceremony will be broadcast live on Friday, July 23 by NBC across all time zones. The network’s coverage starts at 6:55 a.m. ET/3:55 a.m. PT. It will also be streamed live on the NBC Sports app and on NBCOlympics.com.

NBC Olympics will be creating a full day of Olympic programming on Friday, July 23 culminating in a primetime rebroadcast of the Opening Ceremony beginning at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT on NBC. The primetime rebroadcast will also be available on the NBC Sports app and NBCOlympics.com. See schedule below.

The NBC primetime coverage of the Tokyo Opening Ceremony will be replayed twice again overnight, allowing viewers more opportunities to watch and creating a near 24 hour takeover of NBC.

The early live coverage will mark NBC’s first-ever live morning broadcast of an Opening Ceremony. It will be followed by a special edition of Today with reaction and athlete interviews. NBC will also air a special preview of the Games starting at 10 a.m.

Watch on Deadline

The NBC primetime rebroadcast of Tokyo Opening Ceremony will feature special coverage of Team USA, along with the performances, pageantry and Parade of Nations that are the heart of the event. Primetime coverage begins at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT on NBC, as well as the NBC Sports app and NBCOlympics.com.

With Tokyo 13 hours ahead of the east coast of the United States, the Opening Ceremony begins at 8 p.m. in Japan, which is 7 a.m. ET and 4 a.m. PT. Deadline will be posting a review of the live Opening Ceremony broadcast shortly after it ends.

FRIDAY, JULY 23 (all times Pacific)

Opening Ceremony (Live): 3:55 a.m.-8 a.m. (NBC, NBC Sports app and NBCOlympics.com)

Tokyo Olympics Preview Show: 10 a.m.-1 p.m. (Live on NBC)

Opening Ceremony (Replay): 4:30 p.m.-9 p.m. (NBC, NBC Sports app and NBCOlympics.com)

Opening Ceremony (Replay): 9:10 p.m.-2 a.m. (NBC)

Opening Ceremony (Replay): 2:13 a.m.-5 a.m. (NBC)

Author